Stephen Flynn reappointed SNP Westminster leader

Stephen Flynn has been reappointed as the SNP’s Westminster leader.

Mr Flynn has held the post since December 2022 following the resignation of Ian Blackford.

Last week he hung on to his Aberdeen South seat with a reduced majority of 3,758.

But the party lost its status as the third largest in the Commons after it was left with just nine MPs, compared to 48 in 2019.

The SNP held an AGM on Monday which saw Pete Wishart, the longest-serving SNP MP, appointed as deputy leader.

Aberdeen North MP Kirsty Blackman was appointed chief whip.

Mr Flynn had been expected to carry on but he only confirmed the group’s decision on Wednesday.

Writing on X, Mr Flynn said: “I was delighted to be asked to continue as Group Leader and to have the experience of Pete Wishart join me as deputy.”

Mr Wishart told BBC Scotland News he was looking forward to starting in the role.

Source link